Worth Doing

“The best prize that life offers is the chance to work hard at work worth doing.” – Theodore Roosevelt 

I am so glad to be returning to Uganda, with a paying job, to engage in meaningful work I feel privileged to support. This alone overwhelms me with such gratitude. I get to work hard and live well somewhere I love to be. I get to reunite with people I’ve missed dearly and make many new connections to people I know I’ll soon be unable to imagine living without. I also get to say hard goodbyes to my family and friends stateside. For this, I am also thankful. I have multi-continental love.

There are the tangible and superficial comforts of American life that I miss when living somewhere like East Africa — and then there are the softer and deeper nuances. It goes without saying that a huge chunk of my heart resides in the good ole U S of A. I’m still a phone call away, but I’m usually asleep or at work when you need to talk. I miss the spontaneous chance to drive up and see you. I’m not an affordable plane ticket away. I’m missing the daily life moments that come with being in close community. I’m having experiences you can’t understand, and you’re making memories I am not a part of.

All the good and bad of moving 8,000 miles away is not lessened because one has done it before. Mixed emotions is becoming a way of life for me. Thank you for coming along for the ride.

This past month has been intentional and fulfilling. Intentional days of rest. Intentional days of prep for moving. Intentional moments spent with family and friends (sometimes virtually, too). I love those of you who filled my days and encouraged me as I get ready to head to the Pearl for round two.  From the bottom of my heart, thank you.

Next time I post it’ll be from the flipside. Catch ya soon & don’t be a stranger 🙂

xo, LB

PS everyone go listen to Lava/see Inside Out and feel all the feelings.

PPS check out my brilliant best friend’s new venture into the blogosophere. YES!

4 thoughts on “Worth Doing

  1. So glad that I got to work with you on your stop in New York. You’re an incredible woman who will bring a great deal of hard work to your next venture. Safe travels! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Safe travels dear Lauren! We are very proud of you!! We look forward to reading your blog and we’ll keep you in our prayers. Keep us posted! : )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

