Something Necessary and Luminous

Waking up
Bare feet hitting
The crystal floor
I have two
Options
As I always do;
I can focus on all
That I am
Human and blossoming into
Something necessary
And luminous
Or
I can focus on all
That I am not
Which the list goes
On and on
Things I wish I were.

It is all up to me.
The choice is always
Mine.

I, am treasure.

Christopher Poindexter

//

My goodness is nothing apart from You… The lines have fallen to me in pleasant places; Yes, I have a good inheritance. I will bless the Lord who has given me counsel; My heart instructs me in the night seasons. I have set the Lord always before me; Because He is at my right hand I shall not be moved. Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoices. My flesh will also rest in hope… You will show me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy.

-from Psalm 16, NKJV

//

…be transformed by the renewing of your mind… Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you… We have different gifts… Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good. Be devoted to one another in love. Honor one another above yourselves. Never be lacking in zeal… Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer… Practice hospitality. Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.

-from Romans 12, NIV

//

What are the pillars that keep you afloat when you’re in a place of uncertainty, or waiting? What about in a season of doubt, lacking nearness in your relationship with God or those around you? I try my best to never view the past with regret — everything has led me to now for a purpose; all my mistakes and struggles and hurts, as well as my triumphs. The growth and changes taking place in my heart and life are something “necessary and luminous” that are being revealed along the journey. Comparison and competition rob you of contentment. You will never be “enough” in so many lights, so quit striving and be loving and gracious to yourself and others as you are. While goals and dreams are valuable and a definite priority, don’t let them define or detract from your present. The present moment is a gift and it’s happening all around; press in to it. The passage quoted above from Psalms keep me grounded — trusting in promises even when I don’t feel them. It reminds me to keep practicing humility, resting in hope, and seeking the fullness of joy that comes from reflection and a pursuit of God’s will in my everyday actions. The passage quoted from Romans gives practical advice on how to love and live well, Christian or not. The poem is simply lovely and a beautiful reminder as I continue treasuring myself and focusing on the present and all that I am, all that I have, all that I am blessed to be experiencing.

One thought on “Something Necessary and Luminous

Leave a Reply

