Mpola Mpola

*title = “Slowly by slowly” – a Luganda saying for sticking with something, even if the going is slow and hard (as it often is in Uganda).

First — do you know someone job hunting? Akola is hiring! Please direct them here! Woo!

I write from my favorite booth at the Jinja Java House watching a cotton candy sunset disappear too quickly (Sunday sunsets are never welcomed as it means the week is too soon starting!). I named this post Mpola Mpola as, to be completely honest, that’s how I’ve felt the last few months… in certain areas of my life, the going is slow and difficult. I am struggling to keep on top of my studies and balance; to be gracious toward myself during times when my work is not 100%-type-A-model-student-standard even if I’d love for it to be (/obsessively need it to be). My organization¬†is undergoing massive growth and change (our Neiman’s sales are doing amazingly well!!!), which while exciting, also brings with it challenges both personal and professional. My personal relationships are ever-ebbing and flowing… it’s the result of normal life happenings, but sometimes feels heightened due to my “living abroad” state of being/flux that comes alongside this chosen, beloved lifestyle of mine.

Here’s a few quick updates on the past 2 months:

  • In February, my sister visited and it was amazing. We went on safari in Murchison and camped at Fort Patiko, amongst other things. This was the most time one-on-one we’d spent together in YEARS, and it was so so good for my heart.
  • I finally visited the Hairy Lemon
  • I attended IF: Uganda¬†here in Jinja
  • I’m wrapping up my third class, Policy Analysis and Process (paper due in less than a month, crunch time!!!)
  • A few of my close friends from back in my 2013 UG days coming back to Uganda in the coming weeks. YAY.
  • I’m going to South Africa over Easter for vacation!
  • I’ve begun mentoring a fellow former IJM-er (she’s a current undergrad student) thanks to IJM creating the connection
  • Making efforts to devote more time to reading (non school/work), creating, connecting, spontaneity, time in nature, self-care activities, time with God and self, space for simply be-ing

What have you been up to? I’d love to hear, please drop me a note.

xo LB