Mpola Mpola

*title = “Slowly by slowly” – a Luganda saying for sticking with something, even if the going is slow and hard (as it often is in Uganda).

First — do you know someone job hunting? Akola is hiring! Please direct them here! Woo!

I write from my favorite booth at the Jinja Java House watching a cotton candy sunset disappear too quickly (Sunday sunsets are never welcomed as it means the week is too soon starting!). I named this post Mpola Mpola as, to be completely honest, that’s how I’ve felt the last few months… in certain areas of my life, the going is slow and difficult. I am struggling to keep on top of my studies and balance; to be gracious toward myself during times when my work is not 100%-type-A-model-student-standard even if I’d love for it to be (/obsessively need it to be). My organization is undergoing massive growth and change (our Neiman’s sales are doing amazingly well!!!), which while exciting, also brings with it challenges both personal and professional. My personal relationships are ever-ebbing and flowing… it’s the result of normal life happenings, but sometimes feels heightened due to my “living abroad” state of being/flux that comes alongside this chosen, beloved lifestyle of mine.

Here’s a few quick updates on the past 2 months:

  • In February, my sister visited and it was amazing. We went on safari in Murchison and camped at Fort Patiko, amongst other things. This was the most time one-on-one we’d spent together in YEARS, and it was so so good for my heart.
  • I finally visited the Hairy Lemon
  • I attended IF: Uganda here in Jinja
  • I’m wrapping up my third class, Policy Analysis and Process (paper due in less than a month, crunch time!!!)
  • A few of my close friends from back in my 2013 UG days coming back to Uganda in the coming weeks. YAY.
  • I’m going to South Africa over Easter for vacation!
  • I’ve begun mentoring a fellow former IJM-er (she’s a current undergrad student) thanks to IJM creating the connection
  • Making efforts to devote more time to reading (non school/work), creating, connecting, spontaneity, time in nature, self-care activities, time with God and self, space for simply be-ing

What have you been up to? I’d love to hear, please drop me a note.

xo LB

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

